Football Fever! at Singapore Philatelic Museum

Football Fever! at Singapore Philatelic Museum

I was quite excited about visiting Football Fever! at Singapore Philatelic Museum ever since I heard they were going to curate it.

Football Fever! at Singapore Philatelic Museum

This is not the first time that SPM has hosted a World Cup Exhibition, as I do recall they hosted a similar exhibition in 2006.

I personally enjoyed how the exhibition was presented.

Football Fever! at Singapore Philatelic Museum

Football Fever! at Singapore Philatelic Museum

Football Fever! at Singapore Philatelic Museum

Football Fever! at Singapore Philatelic Museum

Lots of stuff to keep kids entertained, not least the fooseball table

Football Fever! at Singapore Philatelic Museum

Football Fever! at Singapore Philatelic Museum

It was quite funny to see an entry with Emperor Kangxi.
Football Fever! at Singapore Philatelic Museum

I identified most with this panel…
Football Fever! at Singapore Philatelic Museum

…and here’s why.

Much of my excitement about visiting the exhibition was due the fact that they decided to display replica shirts and most of them would be used in the 2010 edition of the World Cup. I had suggested that SPM get in touch with my regular football shirt supplier, Weston Corporation, and I’m glad that they managed to get Weston to sponsor shirts that definitely enhances the presentation of the exhibition. It was a joy to behold the shirts as I collect sportswear myself.

US, Australia, Cameroon, South Africa, Spain
Football Fever! at Singapore Philatelic Museum

South Africa, Spain, France, Holland, England
Football Fever! at Singapore Philatelic Museum

Germany, Singapore, Mexico
Football Fever! at Singapore Philatelic Museum

Argentina, Brazil, Italy, South Korea, Japan, Ghana
Football Fever! at Singapore Philatelic Museum

Spotted the odd team out?

Mishelle Lim, curator of this exhibition went beyond simply acquiring replica football shirts for this exhibition. She managed to source for memorabilia of World Cup icons, namely Pele and Maradona!

Football Fever! at Singapore Philatelic Museum
Sponsored by sportingmemorabilia.biz

Football Fever! at Singapore Philatelic Museum
Sponsored by sportingmemorabilia.biz

The wealth of World Cup artefacts doesn’t stop here. England fans may also be interested in checking out autographed photos by Gordon Banks, Geoff Hurst and the 1966 England away shirt.

Football Fever! at Singapore Philatelic Museum
Sponsored by sportingmemorabilia.biz

Football Fever! at Singapore Philatelic Museum
Sponsored by sportingmemorabilia.biz

Football Fever! at Singapore Philatelic Museum
Sponsored by sportingmemorabilia.biz

I had great fun visiting Football Fever! at Singapore Philatelic Museum, which is a beautifully presented exhibition, and what better time to visit it than during the run up to the greatest quadrennial sporting event.

Football Fever! at Singapore Philatelic Museum

Football Fever! at Singapore Philatelic Museum runs from now till 29 August 2010. More details here.

8 thoughts on “Football Fever! at Singapore Philatelic Museum

  1. @mario: which team will you be rooting for?@adrian: Nope I'm not paying either telco anything, but I'm still going to get to watch it.

  2. Every year, I signed up Starhub for world cup. Same to this year as well. My favourite team is Argentina 🙂

  3. @Mario: I would enjoy it if US pulled off an upset against England in their opener!@Des: bro, if you want to get Argentina shirts let me know, I can get them for S$75.

  4. I like the 2002 gold color World Cup football the best! I nearly bought a mini one as a souvenir that year, but I didn't in the end due to lack of space to keep it. But I still love it anyway :)I also do not have World Cup package this year despite subscribing to Scv. But I'll watch the semi-finals and finals. The team I support will depend on the semi final teams 😀

Leave a Reply

