Edinburgh

Edinburgh

I visited Edinburgh from 25 – 27 May 2011 for a work trip.

My first visit to the Scottish capital was in 1997 with my family. My parents brought my sister, brother and me on a two week holiday to the UK, and we spent a week on a coach tour and another at my aunt’s place in London.

Edinburgh

The enduring memory I had of Edinburgh was purchasing my very first adidas track tops which still survive to this day, with the exception of the white/black one, which has since yellowed.

adidas 1997 tracktop
adidas 1997 tracktop

Along, with that, I purchased a Trainspotting tape box set. Yes, video tape. It came with a lighter and orange tinted round glasses. I hope I still have it around somewhere.

From the last trip, I do recall shopping in St John’s Shopping Centre, where I picked up the aforementioned boxset and tracktops.

St John's Shopping Centre, Edinburgh

This time round, I would pick up a few Kangol hats at good prices.

My memory of Princes Street was vague, and I only realised that we walked along the same street that Renton and Spud were chased by the police after watching the movie.

Princes Street

Getting there this time round was quite dramatic though. A volcanic ash cloud from Iceland was passing by Edinburgh’s airspace on the day that I was due to fly off, and it was a gamble on whether the winds would blow it further down Europe. Thankfully, by the time my flight had clocked 13 hours, the pilot announced that it would be safe to carry on to Edinburgh, from my stopover at Amsterdam.

This was my first visit to Edinburgh airport, as the last time round with my family, we landed at Heathrow Airport in London.

Nothing to shout about, was glad to get through the sticky UK gatekeepers quickly.

Edinburgh Airport

Edinburgh Airport

Edinburgh Airport

Getting from the airport to town by bus was a breeze. The bus terminates at Waverley train station.

Edinburgh

On the map, it looked like my accomodation was a decent 10 minute walk away. I didn’t account for the slopes and spent more than half an hour trying to find my lodging.

I passed by the Edinburgh dungeon which I can’t recall visiting the first time round.

Edinburgh Dungeon

When I finally got to the apartment, it was nice to see that it was quite decent.

Holyrood Apart-Hotel

Holyrood Apart-Hotel

Holyrood Apart-Hotel

Holyrood Apart-Hotel

On the first day I was there, I went to Waverley station to get my early Saturday morning train ride sorted. The train station was undergoing renovations and I was quite sad to learn that the train for Saturday would be cancelled due to railworks and that I had to take two buses and two trains over a six-hour period to get to my intended destination. It was meant to be a three hour ride originally.

Waverley station

Waverley station

That downer aside, shopping at Princes Street in Edinburgh was quite decent. Here are some of the shops I took photos of. It was interesting to find that Onitsuka Tiger and Fred Perry are priced better than back home.

It was good fun walking round Edinburgh and taking in all the historical buildings and monuments.

National Archives of Scotland
General Register House

The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel

Edinburgh Old Town
Edinburgh Old Town from North Bridge

The Scotsman Hotel
The Scotsman Hotel

The Royal Mile

The Royal Mile towards Holyrood Palace

The Royal Mile towards Edinburgh Castle

National Library of Scotland
National Library of Scotland

St Giles Cathedral
St Giles Cathedral

The Royal Mile towards Edinburgh Castle

The Hub

Edinburgh Castle

Changing of the Guard at Edinburgh Castle

Edinburgh Castle

Edinburgh Castle

Ramsay Lane

The Church of Scotland

Panoramic view of Edinburgh from Scott Monument

This time round, at almost twice the age when I first visited, it was nice to appreciate the history that Edinburgh has to offer.

Shaun Wong at Edinburgh Castle

Leave a Reply

